Problems getting plans approved - help req'd ??
If you want to know how your DIY projects could be affected by building and planning regulations, click here to post questions and view answers

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Steevo_Tabasco
Labourer
Labourer

Problems getting plans approved - help req'd ??

by Steevo_Tabasco » Sun Jun 13, 2010 10:22 am

Good morning all,

Looking for some advice on planning & if I Can do anything else in my quest ?!?
Im a Mechanical Engineer - so no professional building trade / planning experience, living in Scotland. Currently planning to build an extension, I have drawn up an extension proposal and have submitted to local planning development services.
after much emailing and chasing with the allocated tech the response I received was unfavourable (they have deemed the extension was to the principal elevation and hence shut the doors on the plans)... now here’s where my problem is - there are about 10 properties in the area, with extensions to the same side as my proposal some built within the last 2 yrs ?
(How can the planning services approve 1 but refuse another?) I submitted quite a large portfolio with photographs of the properties with these extensions along with a map of the area indicating these properties in regards to my own ...
with my limited (well lack of) experience relating to planning rules & reg's how can my principal elevation be different to someone elses property, they have deemed the others to be rear extensions - even if the extension fronts the road (highway) / the letter box (front door) / access all are the same as my own , really cant get my head round it

I have checked the councils website and all properties are planning approved
1x property has only the approved building warrant (but the council say this is unauthorised - are they lying ? how can a property have the warrant approved but be unauthorised ?)