Puzzling RCD Problem After Replacing old Garage Consumer Unit
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
BenB1980
Labourer
Labourer

Puzzling RCD Problem After Replacing old Garage Consumer Unit

by BenB1980 » Sun May 07, 2017 4:57 pm

My first ever post here! I hope someone can help. I've normally got all answers to all problems, but this one has baffled me.

So I've just replaced my old garage consumer unit with a new one. Basically it was in the wrong place and the previous owner of the property had done a REALLY bad job installing it (upside down too?!). So I've taken the opportunity to tidy everything up a bit including installing a nice shiny new unit. At this point I would like to say that, whilst I'm not a qualified electrician, I am happy enough working with it all to know what I'm doing.

So, the problem is basically that everything is now installed, back up and running, except the RCD now trips when I plug the freezer back in.

Yes, it's the age old freezer problem...

The issue I have is that literally NOTHING has changed from when the "old" consumer unit was up.

The old unit itself isn't that old I guess. It's a 40A/30mA RCD. One 32A and one 6A MCB. Nothing unusual. The new unit is exactly the same spec. 40A/30mA RCD, 1x 32A MCB and 1x 6A MCB. I've checked and double checked the wiring. All sockets tested and light up correctly with the tester.

If I plug in something small (battery charger, work light, etc) all systems stay on. As soon as I go to plug in the freezer, it trips.

Is there something glaringly obvious that I'm missing?

Should I simply reinstall the OLD consumer unit and live in ignorance? (because I can only assume that if the old unit doesn't trip but the new one does, then there's potentially something wrong with the rest of the garage electrics which I never knew about! - and therefore need to sort out pretty sharpish!)