RCBO question


Postby GoNz0 » Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:49 pm

Hi all, not all that new, but i finally need to ask something i cant find an answer to :)

so new account and here we go..

about to rewire my house and my sparky bro has told me to get RCBO's for the new consumer unit, so after a bit of searching i ended up buying contactums range to do the job as there a decent price.

its all arrived today and the RCBO's dont have an earth wire like most of the others i have seen, does this mean they wont be able to detect an earth leak ?
GoNz0
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
26.9%
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:46 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby BLAKEY1963 » Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:08 am

[quote="GoNz0"]Hi all, not all that new, but i finally need to ask something i cant find an answer to :)

so new account and here we go..

about to rewire my house and my sparky bro has told me to get RCBO's for the new consumer unit, so after a bit of searching i ended up buying contactums range to do the job as there a decent price.

its all arrived today and the RCBO's dont have an earth wire like most of the others i have seen, does this mean they wont be able to detect an earth leak ?[/quote]

GONZO

Each product comes with manufactuers infomation sheet , and
contact information.
Any queries get in touch with them.

BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
31.6%
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm

Postby ericmark » Wed Aug 20, 2008 3:30 pm

I know I have seen an RCBO with an earth wire but not a clue why RCD's don't have them and neither do MCB's and today to find a v-ELCB would be hard they went out with the ark. I would be interested to find out why any RCBO requires an earth.
I bet Sparx has an answer?
Eric
ericmark

Postby GoNz0 » Wed Aug 20, 2008 8:44 pm

they didnt come with a data sheet, and contactums websites closed at the mo with only a link to there catologue.

a lot of googling did reveal that the earth is used for the test button to create an earth leak, if it doesnt have it then its using a resistor to test the circuit instead.
GoNz0
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
26.9%
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:46 pm

Postby speedygonzarlis » Wed Aug 20, 2008 9:30 pm

is it not because they have a neutral and as we all know the neutral is connected into the earth? theoretically its line and 2 earths!!
speedygonzarlis
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
26.9%
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Feb 23, 2008 5:07 pm

Postby GoNz0 » Wed Aug 20, 2008 10:59 pm

its part of the test circuit "IF" the test circuit involves earth leak, in my case it doesnt
GoNz0
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
26.9%
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:46 pm

Postby ericmark » Wed Aug 20, 2008 11:32 pm

It seems:-
1. The "functional earth" flying lead is the earth reference required in order to detect lost supply neutral; without this flying lead, the RCBO will not (adequately?) detect earth leakage unless the supply neutral is intact.
OK for a TN-C-S supply is the neutral is not intact then neither with the earth so I still can't see quite why it is there. Still looking!
ericmark

Postby GoNz0 » Thu Aug 21, 2008 5:36 pm

blinking moderation que is messing up my post placement :|
GoNz0
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
26.9%
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:46 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics