Re-wiring of a house


Postby Kristian » Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:50 pm

Can anyone assist

1. What is the best cable to use to rewire a house?
2. How much cable will I require for a typical 3 bed house?
3. How much will it cost for hte materials?
4. How much would labour be (if I bought the materials myself)

Help is much appreciated

Thanks
Kristian
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
5.3%
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:49 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby BLAKEY1963 » Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:35 pm

[quote="Kristian"]Can anyone assist

1. What is the best cable to use to rewire a house?
2. How much cable will I require for a typical 3 bed house?
3. How much will it cost for hte materials?
4. How much would labour be (if I bought the materials myself)

Help is much appreciated

Thanks[/quote]

KRISTIAN
CABLE TO BRITISH KITE MARK STANDARD AS SOLD
BY ELECTRICAL WHOLESALERS, IE B.I.C.C.
FOR A 3 BEDROOM HOUSE , WITHOUT KNOWING ,CIRCUIT
DESIGN , CABLE ROUTES LENGTH ECT HARD TO SPECIFY CABLE
QUANTITY.
MATERIALS WOULD AGAIN DEPEND ON TYPE OF SUPPLY,EARTHING,
DESIGN OF INTENDED INSTALLATION , NUMBER OF CIRCUITS ECT.
HARD TO QUANTIFY WITHOUT A SURVEY OF INSTALLATION REQUIRED.
LABOUR WILL DEPEND ON WHAT INSTALLATION IS REQUIRED AFTER
CONSULTATION WITH CLIENT , AND TAKING INTO CONSIDERATION
BS7671 AND PART P REGS.
I KNOW YOU REQUIRE AN IDEA OF COST , BUT THE WORK IS NOTIFIABLE AND A REGISTERED SPARKY IS REQUIRED TO DO THE WORK ANYWAY, AND CERTIFY , SO THE BEST WAY AROUND YOUR
QUESTION IS TO ASK ANY GENUINE REGITERED SPARK TO GIVE U A QUOTATION. I GIVE QUOTATIONS FREE WITH NO OBLIGATION AS DO
MOST BONA FIDE ELECTRICIANS.
BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Rank: Site Agent
Progress to next rank:
31.6%
Posts: 658
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm

Postby Kristian » Fri Jul 20, 2007 7:17 am

Cheers Blakey

I only need this info for a project I am completing for Uni. Its only so I can give rough costs for an experiment. I have proposed a ring main connecting isolator switches in each room of a house which are then connected to a radial circuit to the plug sockets in each room. (this allowing all the sockets in one room to be switched off using a single switch) I have said I will use PVC 2.5mm cable (with earth).

I have also said that 50m of cable will be sufficient.....can you tell me if ths is realistic or not?

Cheers

Kristian
Kristian
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
5.3%
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 11:49 am

Postby sparx » Fri Jul 20, 2007 6:00 pm

Hi Kristian, Blakey may be busy so briefly, you can't do it using a ring main, it's against regs BUT if u ran a radial from 20A mcb from cu for each room with a 20A D-Pole sw, as used to control under counter skts in a kitchen it would be brill. & comply.regards SPARX
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics