Replacement pipe to tap pipe
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
squarefrog
Apprentice
Apprentice

Replacement pipe to tap pipe

by squarefrog » Thu Jul 17, 2008 8:55 pm

I've got very low pressure to my kitchen hot tap. I've figured out that it's because the white tubing from the hot water pipe to the table is too kinked. See my picture:

http://i98.photobucket.com/albums/l251/ ... 8260-1.jpg

I figure there must be a simple way to replace this piping, possibly with a shorter length. Is this just a standard size? I have no experience with plumbing really, but I know how to switch the water off and drain the pipe enough to perform this. Plus I like knowing that I've done something!

One final question - all my pipes have this odd white stringy substance around it (the actual pipes and nut threads) - presumably to make the join tighter. What is this substance?

Thanks!

plumbbob
Project Manager
Project Manager

by plumbbob » Fri Jul 18, 2008 9:30 pm

I would agree that the pipe is badly kinked and maybe removing the kinks could improve the water flow. These flexible pipes only come in standard lengths, and it is unlikely you will find a shorter one.

Normally if the pipe is too long, it can be coiled into a spiral (as if making a spring) to effectively shorten it without affecting the flow. This may not entirely solve your problem as the kinked pipe may be damaged and not recover if straightened. Also, the bore of these pipes is usually quite small, and may restrict the flow to the tap anyway.

The white stringy stuff you refer to is PTFE tape, and is used to seal joints by winding it around the threads before installation. It is only necessary when the thread is the seal itself and not on compression joints and those with rubber seals such as I can see in your photo. Non of those require the use of PTFE.

Steve the gas
Site Agent
Site Agent

by Steve the gas » Sat Jul 19, 2008 7:03 am

Hi,