REPLACING A LOW VOLTAGE MULTI-SPOT TRACK
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
witsend
Labourer
Labourer

REPLACING A LOW VOLTAGE MULTI-SPOT TRACK

by witsend » Thu Jun 19, 2008 12:58 am

As a newbie, I read with interest the often negative remarks about LV fittings. It was helpful [though I'm committed in my property to over 40 of them!] Anyway my question concerns a very attractive contemporary design lighting track that is fixed to the kitchen ceiling above an island unit.

The track comprises [i] a track with two strips of metal about 2 metres long separated by plastic [this track carries the 12v supply]; [ii] ceiling fittings into which the track clips and allow it to be installed as an attractive elongated S-shape over the island unit; [iii] 4 fasten-on downlighter fittings which are rated to take standard 35w LV halogen lamps; [iv] a metal finished cylindrical casing screwing to a ceiling plate; two metal fittings emerge at the bottom of the casing to deliver 12v across the rails; inside the casing is heavy fused square transformer rated at max 150 VA which has 4 screws which offer up through the transformer and hold it to the ceiling plate.

This has been an attractive design idea that has worked well for 7 years [couple of fuses went, that's all]. Now however the transformer appears to have gone kaput and a plastic thread fitting has failed [possibly due to heat]. The product by Eglo is obsolete, no spares [isn't this always the case?] and we have searched extensively without finding a similar product with good design.