Rewire a garage
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
ianmcm
Labourer
Labourer

Rewire a garage

by ianmcm » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:55 am

Just got round to looking at the electrics in my garage.
I understand that any one reading this will be giving me advice from what I describe here. I am not a electrician and really wish to know were and what my problems are before I get an electrician to take all my money to fix the problems

1. My garage (9ftx16ft) is about 7' away from the house it has an electric cable coming in from the upstairs of the house which after pulling fuses from the mains fuse box, seems to be the upstairs light ring. This supply is then running a fluorescent light and a socket and an oil boiler. I KNOW, My brain is saying Danger!!!!!!!!
So my questions
What would an electrician do?
I would like to have a supply for
1/ the boiler, on it says`230v-50hz/0.1156kw is the demand of electric it needs?
2/ a washing machine `a` rated
3/ tumble drier
4/ small freezer
5/ TV/ radio
6/ game console
And a outside socket for gardening tools
(Not all running at same time, but im trying to give the idea of demand)
And 3 fluorescent lights
The closest ring would be the kitchen
Then the living room
The mains circuit board has a 240 v 20 amps spare?
Could this be used to run an armoured cable to for just the socket demand or both.
Could I still use the danger wiring for the lighting?
Would I be able to run the cables myself and get an electrician to connect and test the wiring?

Is this a major job ? Would any one like to help me out? In advising me what to do and how to do it. I think it would be a good thing to learn with some help

Thank you

I appreciate all your help and advice if you have any,

ericmark

by ericmark » Tue Apr 22, 2008 1:29 pm