ring main isolator for sockets.


Postby chipsngravy » Fri Aug 17, 2007 11:47 pm

Hi all,
Small query that I hope some one can help with. Is there any way that I can have a single isolator switch connected to a part of a socket ring main to isolate several double sockets.
I intend building a media cabinet in my living room; this will have around 4 double sockets that will be difficult to access. I would like to be able to isolate these sockets from a single accessible switch. Thus not leaving any of the media units on stand by, however, I will not want to affect the rest of the ring main. At the moment the only advice I have had is to run a fused spur from the ring and connect the sockets to this. I’m not sure about that solution.
I'm aware of the radio controlled plug through adapters, but after using these on various electrical units over several months, I've found them to be unreliable, and needing to be reprogrammed quite often or switching them selves off randomly.
Hope this posting makes sense.
Thanks in advance for any suggestions
chipsngravy
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:54 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Sat Aug 18, 2007 12:33 pm

Hi, I think you have the easiest 2 answers already!
we use lots of RF sw. units & have never had a problem with them, bearing in mind I transmit VERY High amounts of RF from my radio shack!
If your total load is unlikely to exceed 13A then the sw-fused connection unit [fused spur] is next best way.
If load is more (unlikely) then only way is to get your Part P. domestic installer to run in a new radial from Con. Unit, 20A in 2.5mm2 should do,
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby chipsngravy » Sun Aug 19, 2007 9:49 am

Thanks for the quick response sparx, and the advice.
Could you recommend a reliable rf adapter (with out a LED that stays on even when the equipment is powered down) as it could be the type I've been using are not good quality. (Cheap from Liddil) Hence the problems I mentioned in my last posting.
Also, if I was to go down the fused spur route, would it just be a case of wiring the sockets up in series (daisy chain) from the fused spur switch or is there another way of going about it?
Sorry to follow up your answers with more questions but I want to get it right.
Thanks alot.
chipsngravy
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:54 pm


Postby sparx » Sun Aug 19, 2007 1:26 pm

Hi agn.
we use some from Maplins & some from B & Q, depends who has them @ best price, incidentally both my daughters use them at their places with no probs. one make is 'Byron' one is 'SMJ' both work on 433.92 Mhz coded & dispite closeness to 70cm 'Ham-band' no interference.
OK to daisy-chain sockets, we do this sort of circuit for add on conservatories where there is a convenient ring socket nearby, wire to Spur then onto sockets & often tee off one socket to another 3A sw./fused spur for lights,
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby chipsngravy » Sun Aug 19, 2007 8:39 pm

Thanx Sparx,
All clear, great help. Now I've got to actully get to work on the thing!!
Cheers
chipsngravy
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2007 10:54 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics