Rubber Grommets


Postby BobAjob2 » Wed Dec 16, 2009 2:26 pm

I've found that I have around 5 or 6 new sockets that don't have rubber grommets fitted in the back box.
It's an extension of the ring main that's been added into a house extension.

Is this a major problem, should I disconnect everything and add them?
BobAjob2
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
10.5%
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:01 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby rosebery » Wed Dec 16, 2009 10:30 pm

Well they SHOULD have been fitted. You don't HAVE to but I would say yes - do it.

Cheers
rosebery
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2022
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Postby BobAjob2 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 9:45 am

[quote="rosebery"]Well they SHOULD have been fitted. You don't HAVE to but I would say yes - do it.

Cheers[/quote]
I thought that may have been the case, thanks, it'll keep me busy over the xmas period.
BobAjob2
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
10.5%
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:01 pm

Postby acsimpson » Thu Dec 17, 2009 1:18 pm

I've been advised in the past that instead of disconnecting everything you can cut the gromit to allow it to be slipped in round the cable. Unless anyone here disagrees with me I would do that as it simplifies the job.

Do turn the power off before doing trying this though.
acsimpson
Rank: Foreman
Progress to next rank:
4.3%
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:33 pm

Postby rosebery » Thu Dec 17, 2009 6:15 pm

ACS I think thats spot on.

Cheers
rosebery
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2022
Joined: Wed Sep 26, 2007 8:55 pm

Postby sparx » Thu Dec 17, 2009 7:47 pm

totally agree with acsimpson, just beat me to the comment!

much better than disconnecting if wiring allows,
regards Sparx
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Postby ericmark » Sat Dec 19, 2009 11:53 am

There is grommet strip designed to edge non round holes. See here Google "cablecraft.co.uk/Products/grommet_strip" for example.
ericmark
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1796
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Mold, North Wales.

Postby BobAjob2 » Sun Dec 20, 2009 8:48 pm

[quote="acsimpson"]I've been advised in the past that instead of disconnecting everything you can cut the gromit to allow it to be slipped in round the cable. Unless anyone here disagrees with me I would do that as it simplifies the job.

Do turn the power off before doing trying this though.[/quote]
I had wondered if I could do that, thanks.
BobAjob2
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
10.5%
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:01 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics