Second loop on ring main


Postby MagicalTrevor » Thu May 31, 2007 7:14 pm

Hi,

I've recently bought a house & have been considering getting the ring main extended to add a couple more sockets in the living room. I would probably get a electrician in to do this but wanted to get an idea of what the job would entail before hand.

On inspection of the current ring main I discovered that additional sockets have already been added by means of an additional loop on the ring main i.e. If the original loop is 1-2-3-4-5-6, there is a second loop running between 3 & 4 , 3-A-B-4.

Does anyone know if this an issue and if so can it be resolved by just removing the connection between 3 & 4?

Thanks.
MagicalTrevor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 6:55 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Fri Jun 01, 2007 3:35 pm

HI
YES & YES, well spotted M T. with double loop ie fig 8 would throw up odd test results if full readings taken and might raise ? on later periodic insp. eg for a sale etc, best to sort it now!
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby MagicalTrevor » Fri Jun 01, 2007 3:57 pm

Thanks Sparx, I'll get on and sort that...
MagicalTrevor
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu May 31, 2007 6:55 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics