Secondary Consumer Unit and Cable Size for Feed
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Fn105Fn
Labourer
Labourer

Secondary Consumer Unit and Cable Size for Feed

by Fn105Fn » Mon Jan 09, 2017 6:11 pm

Hi everyone, I am a qualified journeyman electrician; however I haven't practiced since 1974 whereupon I became a Firefighter. I used to help my mates out but have done nothing for years and I am aware of the change in Regulations. So gentlemen and ladies this is my question.

Can I use an existing fused feed from the main Consumer Unit that is currently feeding a secondary unit. The cable feeding is a 2.5 twin and earth.

The secondary unit currently has 3 skts in radial and 1 lighting circuit.

My mate wants to run a ring main instead and some lights (not more than the limit)

He also wants to run an armoured cable from this box to his shed at the bottom of the garden.

I was hoping to pick this up from the incoming supply to the secondary unit, sharing the connections and fusing it in the shed with a third 2 way consumer unit.

I am aware that I might need a heavier cable from the main to the secondary. However there is a lot of work in lifting floorboards etc. If 2.5 will do then hunky dorey. Otherwise he will have to employ a qualified electrician. The reason -- I cant work out the Regulations. It is harder understanding the Regs than the circuitry.

Best Regards
Fn105Fn

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Secondary Consumer Unit and Cable Size for Feed

by ericmark » Mon Jan 09, 2017 11:40 pm

There are two sets of what one may call regulations. BS7671 and Part P, the latter is law, but BS7671 is not law but may be used in a court of law.