Self-adhesive strips of tiny leds
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
lifeongnovice
Labourer
Labourer

Self-adhesive strips of tiny leds

Post by lifeongnovice » Fri May 02, 2008 9:15 am

Checked these out at maplins. The strips can be broken off at points - every three leds. Each set of three leds has a resistor, and each has a + and - marking at the start and end.

I want to put these under my upper kitchen cupboards, running power from plug socket through 12v power supply. I've the fitted end removed from the supply and cable cut back. I have other cable bought to run the length of the cupboards.

All I need to know now is that I won't mess it up by doing something wrong. I assume that I attach the two cables from the power supply to the + and - markings at the start of the strip. What happens next? Do I complete the circuit by connecting the other two +/- points to each other?

I know I'm a novice at this, as with all my projects - but I don't make mistakes 'cos I always get help and advice first, so please don't give me a hard time if I'm going way off mark with this.

Thanks in advance for your help

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Fri May 02, 2008 12:46 pm

LED's are very current sensitive and connecting in series can result in if one fails and becomes short circuit it can blow the rest. Resistors have to be selected carefully and they do not like any back EMF. The LED tends to fix it's own voltage RED led 1.2 volt varies with colour some LED's have built in resistors. If for example 2 volt at 30 ma and you used 3 in series with a 200 ohm resistor would work OK but 6 in series would most likely blow. Even though in theory should be OK.

andyb1979
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by andyb1979 » Fri May 02, 2008 2:41 pm