shed power


Postby ceabhail » Fri Dec 07, 2007 11:31 am

I would like to run power to my childrens shed for a light and a socket for a heater.At present I have power in the garage coming from 2.5mm cable which appears to come from the downstairs sockets.This runs into a consumer unit with an RCD and two MCB's .
Can I run another cable from the consumer unit in the garage to the shed into a box with two MCB's using 2.5mm cable or do I need to run a totally separate power supply from the main consumer unit in the house with armoured cable..Please help.

ceabhail
ceabhail
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:25 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby Oddbod » Sat Dec 08, 2007 4:34 pm

Hi, you might be better off asking over on the electrical forum!
Oddbod
Posts: 104
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 12:50 pm


Postby stevenc1603 » Fri Dec 14, 2007 2:35 pm

You can't use the garage feed as you would likely over load the supply cable from the house.

You need to run a new cable, preferably SWA if its going in the ground.

Bear in mind that there a regulations that you need to follow regarding new wiring installs and if your in England or Wales (I think) you need to have it installed by someone qualified to issue you the proper certificates (Part P)

And yes, this should be in the electrical forum.
stevenc1603
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue May 08, 2007 11:59 am


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics