Should I lay my concrete base in sections?


Postby Manc_pablo » Tue Jun 03, 2008 1:10 pm

I am going to lay a concrete slab that is 9' x 17' and approximately 6inches deep. I am following the guidelines in one of the diydoctors how to projects.

The question is though, should I lay the base in two sections and if so, what is the best approach to take? :?

I am ordering pre-mix concrete and ideally would like it all delivered in one batch, rather than two.

Paul
Manc_pablo
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 27, 2007 9:29 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby Nitrospud » Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:14 pm

BTT

Sorry for the hijack, but this post seems to have been missed. I'm in a similar boat, need to lay a concrete slab for a pre fab garage. The slab will measure 4.2M x 8.7M and is 150mm thick with steel mesh reinforcing. I intended to lay Ready Mix in two or three equal sections to make it more manageable, but have talked to two different companies and both have said they would normally lay that size in one hit. The other reason for sectioning it, is that the long edge is against a fence and therefore tamping can't be carried out from the sides. Any feedback appreciated ??

Steve
Nitrospud
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:49 pm


Postby Perry525 » Sat Oct 25, 2008 11:43 am

Paul it makes sense to lay in one go as preparation and travelling cost.
However, to stop it from cracking you do need a proper prepared smooth base and you do need to cover the base with a damp proof membrane, to create in effect a tank to stop the cement leaching out into the base.
When the concrete has started to go off cover the whole area with sand and keep it damp for about ten days.
Watch out for the effect of the sun drying out the slab.
Perry525
Posts: 717
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 7:35 pm


Postby chris12121212 » Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:27 pm

[quote="Nitrospud"]BTT

Sorry for the hijack, but this post seems to have been missed. I'm in a similar boat, need to lay a concrete slab for a pre fab garage. The slab will measure 4.2M x 8.7M and is 150mm thick with steel mesh reinforcing. I intended to lay Ready Mix in two or three equal sections to make it more manageable, but have talked to two different companies and both have said they would normally lay that size in one hit. The other reason for sectioning it, is that the long edge is against a fence and therefore tamping can't be carried out from the sides. Any feedback appreciated ??

Steve[/quote] wot ever you do please do not lay concrete in one go any more than 6 meters. if you do it will crack and look bad and cost you loads too put right. every 6 meters you MUST leave a expansion joint
chris12121212
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:09 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics