shower in low pressure bathroom
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
gripper1971
Labourer
Labourer

shower in low pressure bathroom

by gripper1971 » Mon Mar 16, 2009 8:50 pm

sorry guys but i'm a newbie to this forum.

i need to change my shower from an 9.5kw electric to a thermostatic mixer

we suffer low pressure or flow because we share a mains water feed from the road with the house next door but only have problems when next door turn on cold tap

if i put in a mixer shower with a pump from the hot water cylinder with equalising valve will this be the answer as most of the shower would be the hot water with some cold to regulate the temprature ? is the flow gonna be astly improved or only a little,also my friend who is a builder says the cold water mains pipe from road may be suffering from scale build up ?

thanks for any advice :D

gasmick
Tradesman
Tradesman

by gasmick » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:24 pm

The best way to do it so that its safe to use is to fix a storage tank in the roof of around 50 gall and feed the hot water to the cyld from that and also the cold feed to the shower if you can get enough head in the roof then you will not need a pump providing you use a low pressure shower mixer if you decide to use a pump you will need the high pressure unit its cheaper to have the tank higher than to pay for the pump etc
so you will have to chose which way is goin to be the best for your situation

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager

by rosebery » Tue Mar 17, 2009 9:45 pm

The electric shower should be on the cold mains only which is why you are suffering loss of pressure if the mains is shared.

If you have a HW cylinder you will have a cold water storage tank in the roof.