sockets not on a ring main


Postby jeremy.horwell@btinternet » Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:41 pm

I have several sockets that are all wired individually back to the consumer unit off one fuse.
Can I pick these up in a junction box and wire them into the board off one 2.5mm t&E?
jeremy.horwell@btinternet
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 05, 2009 2:35 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby stoneyboy » Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:00 pm

"Can I pick these up in a junction box and wire them into the board off one 2.5mm t&E?" Not sure what you mean but probably no.
"I have several sockets that are all wired individually back to the consumer unit off one fuse." Probably a radial circuit which should be protected by a 20A fuse.
Get an electrician in to advise you.
end
stoneyboy
Posts: 2708
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:44 pm


Postby kbrownie » Tue Oct 06, 2009 9:11 am

Sounds like you have had mister/missus Crazy doing the circuits.
I'm assuming these are all radial circuits.
So what cable size are they currently and what is the fuse rated at?
It is possible to link them up using two of the sockets already installed as outgoing and incoming legs.
If your intention is to create a ring.
The cable size for ring circuits would be suitable to 2.5mm cable and a breaker size of 32A.
Now linking the other sockets could cause a problem, if the junction boxes are to be within ceiling void or under floors. Most types of joints between cables must be easily accessible for inspection and testing purposes.
Crimp and solder joints can be used which will need specialist tools and specialist knowledge.
I'd be thinking off going directly in to the socket boxes and linking between boxes.
Depending on the age of your installation you may end up with two different types of core colours as they changed about 4 years ago and a notice should go on the Consumer Unit stating this. http://www.diydoctor.org.uk/projects/wirecolours.htm
You will also need to install RCD protection as that is now a requirement.
Saying all this, I would consider rewiring the circuit all together,
but your problem will be that as soon as you install a new protective device breaker/fuse/rcbo/rcd.
It then becomes a new circuit and must be notified to Building Controls.
If you DIY it they will charge you a fee of £135 for you to install it, then you will also need to buy materials needed to do the work.
http://www.diydoctor.org.uk/projects/partp.htm
So again maybe worth considering getting a registered electrician in.
Google "competentperson.co.uk"
Bet you thought it would be easy, but hope this helped and gave you an insight on what you'd need to do any more question please reply.
Regards
KB
kbrownie
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm


Postby DEEARR2 » Tue Oct 06, 2009 6:43 pm

Be very careful here with the number of sockets that are being supplied and what load will be fed by each socket. Should the circuit be supplying small load devices then make sure all devices are locally fused down at the plugs to give a total load not more than 20amp. If the circuit is supplying a utility room or kitchen where the load on each outlet could be in advance of 2-3 KW then the number of sockets will be limited and the supply cable size will have to be upgrade to 4mm or consider upgrading to a ring circuit.
DEEARR2
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:49 pm


Postby kbrownie » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:52 am

[quote="DEEARR2"]Be very careful here with the number of sockets that are being supplied and what load will be fed by each socket. Should the circuit be supplying small load devices then make sure all devices are locally fused down at the plugs to give a total load not more than 20amp. If the circuit is supplying a utility room or kitchen where the load on each outlet could be in advance of 2-3 KW then the number of sockets will be limited and the supply cable size will have to be upgrade to 4mm or consider upgrading to a ring circuit.[/quote]

It is ideal to have your loads split to balance out the circuits but 4mm on a ring final not advised in this situation. 2.5mm on a 32A breaker will be fine for most domestic appliances.
As your plug top will be fused discrimination will be offered at that point.
KB
kbrownie
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm


Postby DEEARR2 » Wed Oct 07, 2009 6:42 pm

Missed the point KB. 4mm cable reference was aimed at the final radial circuit being upgraded from 2.5mm as mentioned in the original post.
DEEARR2
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:49 pm


Postby kbrownie » Thu Oct 08, 2009 10:50 am

[quote="DEEARR2"]Missed the point KB. 4mm cable reference was aimed at the final radial circuit being upgraded from 2.5mm as mentioned in the original post.[/quote]
No mention of upgrade to radial circuit or 4mm cable in OP.
but I do get your point but the OP may not.
kbrownie
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics