Split wire in ring main - easy solution?


Postby iceman » Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:45 am

Just had a test done for the HIP. there is a break somewhere in the ring main of which there is just one in the house (even though all sockets work??)

Is the easiest solution to create 2 radial circuits instead?

Thanks
iceman
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:37 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby supersparks » Fri Nov 09, 2007 4:42 pm

Iceman

It depends on the layout of your house as to how you correct the problem. You could sepperate the ring and turn it into 2 radial circuits. However first you'll need a spare way on your fuse board to accomodate oneof the radial circuits and you'll need ensure that the ring is totaly disconected so there is no continuity between live-live neutral-neutral or earth-earth when checking the radials against each other. This will then require a leccy to test and issue an electrical installation certificate. It would be alot easier to find the break in the ring and correct the break so you still have a ring for your house. You'll then only have to have a minor works certificate done.

Regards

Supersparks
supersparks
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 1:21 am


Postby sparx » Fri Nov 09, 2007 5:52 pm

hi, It is an answer but only if break is near middle of ring as would have to be on 2 X 20A radials so load would have to be approx equal on both,
also to comply with regs each radial would only be allowed to cover 75sqM as against a rings 100sqM.
Best answer would be to disconnect one leg from fuse and see how many skts still work and how many don't which would also give indication of location of break,
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby iceman » Fri Nov 09, 2007 6:52 pm

The electrician isolated it to between 2 sockets right in the middle of the ring. He tested it on 2 X 20a and all worked though he did say not to plug every single appliance into the kitchen sockets as that would blow that circuit in the RCD. He also said that radial circuits are the way forward and all homes should have more than one circuit to avoid problems when something goes wrong. He was happy to issue certificate that the system is safe so can I be secure when I move out in 3 weeks that all is ok?
iceman
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:37 am


Postby sparx » Fri Nov 09, 2007 8:29 pm

Hi agn, he is right abt future of rings, was at a 17th ed, seminar run by ECA last week & rep for IET[old iee] was VERY anti ring circuits.
we can't 'harmonise' systems fully with eu. because we use fused plugs to be safe on 32A ring which no one else does.
Personally I wire one radial/room except for kitchens where I use type A2 32A radial in 4mm on side with most load & type A3 20A radial in 2.5mm on other part of kitchen.(they are always cut in half by doors.)
If he is issueing test cert. he is taking responsibility for whole installation.
BTW it is possible to buy an insurence imdemnity against almost any probs arising after a sale over bldg regs./wiring/gas , it cost my daughter just over £100 3 years ago, well worth it!
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby iceman » Sat Nov 10, 2007 4:37 pm

Hi again Sparks

Interested in the insurance you mentioned to protect me against problems after I move out. the electrician from a major energy supplier changed the circuit to 2 radials, gave me the test sheet issued with everything ticked as safe...if he is happy should I be worried any further?

thanks
iceman
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:37 am


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics

cron