Stannah 240 stair lift
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

7 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
andy e
Labourer
Labourer

Stannah 240 stair lift

by andy e » Tue Feb 15, 2011 6:24 pm

The stair lift goes up but will not come back down, The batteries are good, Will wind down manually, Does anyone have a solution for this problem

BLAKEY1963
Site Agent
Site Agent

Re: Stannah 240 stair lift

by BLAKEY1963 » Thu Feb 17, 2011 10:12 pm

[quote="andy e"]The stair lift goes up but will not come back down, The batteries are good, Will wind down manually, Does anyone have a solution for this problem[/quote]

andy e
Get in your stanna engineer
BLAKEY1963

Turtleneck
Labourer
Labourer

by Turtleneck » Fri Feb 18, 2011 9:57 am

Hi Andy, I am a stairlift engineer and it seems to me that your problem is probably a down safety edge fault. Try tapping the "flappy"" bits on the downside to see if one is stuck.

If that doesn't solve the problem then it could be a multi-tude of things for which you wouldneed an engineer.

If you try to fix it yourself be very careful, these old 240's have very high a.c voltages inside !

Ifyou do get an engineer in find out the initial call out cost, the hourly rate and the cost of parts. You could get away with a bill for £100 but if you are unlucky it could be more like £1000 :shock:

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

by ericmark » Fri Feb 18, 2011 4:36 pm

I will guess and it is just a guess that there is a limit switch of some type to remove power once the lift is at the bottom and this is activated now even when not at the bottom. What type of switch I would not know but the reed switch is very easy to damage only needs a knock.

tomcoughlin
Labourer
Labourer

by tomcoughlin » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:09 pm

To Turtleneck