Switches for kitchen appliances


Postby kent_bal » Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:21 am

I'm about to install new kitchen units. Currently I have appliances - washing machine and dishwasher - powered from switched sockets (directly on the kitchen ring main) located under worktop level. I'd like to be able to switch these from above the worktop, so I plan to replace the single switched sockets with a junction box allowing me to run a spur to a switched FCU above worktop level and run cable from this to an new unswitched socket below the worktop. Is this acceptable.

Also, is it necessary to have this done by a Part P qualified electrician in Scotland.
kent_bal
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:47 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:54 pm

Hi your proposal seems fine,if flush boxes u could connect in existing boxes and fit blank covers to save fitting JB's,
I don't think part P regs apply North of the Border [yet]. regards
SPARX
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Postby kent_bal » Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:27 am

sparx - thanks for your response - the tip on using the existing boxes with blank covers should help too.
kent_bal
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:47 am

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics