telephone extension kit problem
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
claireyv
Labourer
Labourer

telephone extension kit problem

Post by claireyv » Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:28 pm

Having problems with a Philex DIY telephone extension kit. Used something similar in the past with no problems and the finally connecting stage was straight forward. This kit comes with a "connecting tool" and a rather unhelpful diagram . I can't seem to connect the wires to the appropriate slots. Instructions are "carefully strip 50mm of sheath from the cable and make connection as shown (!). Use the connecting tool to press the the wires into the connecton slots, there is no need to remove insulation". Now I'm not a DIY expert but I just can't see how I'm meant to do it - there doesn't seem to be anything for the wires to connect to - especially without removing the insulation. I don't see where the connecting tool comes in as diagram is useless. I'm sure there must be a straight forward explanation! If anyone has used this kit before or could advise me where to look with regard better diagrams, I would really appreciate it.
Thanks a lot

333rocky333
Ganger
Ganger

Post by 333rocky333 » Tue Jan 08, 2008 12:43 am

Dont know the kit but
Has the tool got a slot in it.
Usually you strip the main wire till you have the seperate cores 50mm as said, usually there is a slot and a small cable tie to secure wire to the centre of the socket to hold in place, then splay out the cores to the terminals , do not strip these inner cores, just lay over the metal slot of the terminal ,using the tool over the cable , push cable down,
this will force cable down into groove , the metal will cut into each side of the core making a connection through to the copper.

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:01 am