The beginning of the end for plumbers ?

Postby htg engineer » Fri Jan 18, 2008 4:04 pm

I'm not talking about now or even the next 5 years.

But:

Could Hep20, pushfit fittings, flexible pipes - be the beginning of the end for plumbers ?

Why do we need tradesmen to install this ?
We don't - it's a quick fix DIY installation.

If everyone opts for this method of plumbing - will plumbers be needed ?Can this be classed as a trade or profession. I think not.

What happened to people taking pride in their work, bending pipes, capillary fittings etc ?

I'm glad i'm a CORGI registered heating engineer. Will always be needed.
htg engineer

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby chris_on_tour2002 » Fri Jan 18, 2008 5:10 pm

can't speak as a pro but a keen diy-er i can see your point. and there are many things to blame:

tv programmes, too many to count these days, that lead people to believe that they can tackle many jobs around the home that prevoiusly a pro would have been employed to do i think are largely to blame.

they also encourage would-be property developers to jump on the bandwagon and milk that once big fat cash cow and carry out the work themselves to maximise the profits and whilst it may look lovely on the surface for the new occupants when they move in its not long before the work begins to unravel. ive seen it.

the manufacturers of these products can also be held accountable to a degree. walk around any national diy chain, mentioning no names, and take a look the number of inferior products and materials out there being aimed directly at the diy market based soley on their ease of use. i hear it from friends all the time "have you tried this, looks great.." i always say no, looks c**p and you are a mug! if the pros won't touch it neither do i.