Tips and Advice on Doing Ikea Kitchen Install
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
marconeill6
Labourer
Labourer

Tips and Advice on Doing Ikea Kitchen Install

Post by marconeill6 » Tue Feb 14, 2017 3:19 pm

Hello,

I'm new here and this is my first post, so go easy on me if I break any rules! I'm a suspended ceiling fixer by trade and have a lot of diy experience so have a good fairly decent understanding of most things and a decent tool kit as well.

I'm looking for general tips or any heads up you might be able to offer on my ikea kitchen install. I'm planning on doing most if not all myself, starting with ripping out my b&q kitchen.

I'll be tiling as well (walls only) using real brick effect "slips", and from what I've read online so far, it's best to tile first. Anybody disagree with that?

I'm considering getting a joiner to do the oak veneer work top as I don't have a router or biscuit jointer so by the time I buy these to use once I could just pay someone to have it done right. It's really only one joint due to the layout and there's no cuts required for sink or hob (I think) as we've got a Belfast sink and a range master cooker. As for the wall and base units, I'll be doing these myself, any tips on that would be great.

I'm planning on installing more lighting and moving existing spot lights, again I may get a qualified electrician for this plus the installation of the range master cooker we've bought.

I'll post an update when I get started, thanks in advance.

Marc

WGT52
Apprentice
Apprentice

Re: Tips and Advice on Doing Ikea Kitchen Install

Post by WGT52 » Fri Mar 03, 2017 4:50 pm

1) make sure floor is level;
2) first fix plumbing and electrics
3) if you are having a floor covering (Vinyl or laminate) lay that first.
4) If like me you are putting batterns on the wall fix them now.