Tips on repairing a fire place that will be used for log burning
Brickwork, drystone walling, render are a few subjects covered here. Click here to post questions and get answers

10 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Derrick241
Apprentice
Apprentice

fire place

by Derrick241 » Sun Jan 01, 2012 11:03 pm

Not really sure if this is the right place for this, but here goes

My son has recently bought a house, it had a fire place but was boarded up, someone has tried to put in something new but it looks bloody awful, snots of cement and everything, I wouldnt want to try and use it

Can anyone give any tips on repairing a fire place, it would be used for log burning, only, I'm not a pro brickie, but have built several walls around my gaerden

I am a plumber I have checked the chimney works and 'draws' but the 'damper' has gone as well (maybe thats why it was boarded up, I'd like to get this up to a fully working fire again, anyone help out withg tips and advice, what matierials are needed, planning permissions, pictures, websites

(I dont want one of these pretend gas fires, or anything electric

Would really be appreciated

thanks

welsh brickie
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: fire place

by welsh brickie » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:30 am

I would invest in a cast iron log burner myself,its more efficent,it needs to be inspected and passed by a HETAS engineer.But if you want a traditional fire you need to install a fireback and throat,Set it in place and use only lime and sand or vermiculite to fill the void at the back,Expansion of the material is the key problem, and unless you know how to fit it properly then it will crack.
Check out youtube for more information.For cast iron log burners try Ebay.

Derrick241
Apprentice
Apprentice

by Derrick241 » Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:39 am

Thanks, a log burner sounds ideal, any links, pictures, please ?
who and what is a HETAs engineer ? What do they look for ?

welsh brickie
Project Manager
Project Manager