tt earthing arrangement help!!
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

8 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
martind
Labourer
Labourer

tt earthing arrangement help!!

by martind » Sun Aug 03, 2008 7:12 pm

Hi there, this is my 1st post so please be gentle with me please.

I am a stage lighting engineer so havent much experiance with domestic wiring.

I have a tt earthing arrangement and the only earth it has is to the gas and water main bonding so i have installed an earth rod which has brought the ze down to 15 ohms. I carried out a loop reading at a socket outlet and the result was 15.66 ohms. The main incomer is also protected by a 100mA rcd. Is this all acceptable or not? Only worked with pme before.

Cheers

martin

ericmark

by ericmark » Sun Aug 03, 2008 11:55 pm

The problem is measuring the rod and not the gas and water pipe so the earth rod needs testing with the earth wire disconnected. There is some danger in doing this so empty house is best. In theory your allowed 460 ohms see Table 41.5 but note 2 reduces this to 200 ohms as any reading above this can be unstable. Second problem with TT is protecting the top of the rod as if there is an earth fault the gradient at the top of the rod is very steep so normally it is sunk to below ground level and a cover is put over it this effectively starts the gradient below ground and physically protects the top of the rod and cable connection while still giving access for testing.
Up to July this year 100ma S type (delayed) RCD's were the order of the day but with new regulations these have been in the main replaced with a couple of 30ma non delay.
Since the testing of the rod can produce danger we would not normally go through the testing and to anyone else I am giving this warning this procedure should be carried out only by trained people as any mistake can put 230 volts on exposed metal work.