Two Way Switch as One Way Switch?


Postby Spoonboy90 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:54 pm

I have mistakenly purchased a two way switch rather than a one way switch, can this be used as a one way switch or do i need to get a one way switch?
Spoonboy90
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby GoNz0 » Wed Sep 24, 2008 10:52 pm

L1 and C can be used as a one way
GoNz0
Rank: Tradesman
Progress to next rank:
26.9%
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 9:46 pm

Postby ericmark » Wed Sep 24, 2008 11:39 pm

Yes it can be used. You need to com and either of the other two terminals normally S1.
Eric
ericmark

Postby chris_on_tour2002 » Fri Sep 26, 2008 9:36 pm

more often than not if you ask for a one-way switch these days you'll be given a two-way. as a two-way can be used as a one-way some manufacturers no longer make one-way switches.

the same is not true in reverse however - one-way switches can only be used as one-way.
chris_on_tour2002
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1024
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:14 pm

Postby sparx » Sat Sep 27, 2008 8:22 pm

Just a thought for those using various switches...
I only purchase and carry on van 4 term intermediate switches as they will perform any function ie 1 Way, 2 Way or intermediate, thus saves searching for right type unfortunately cant find 2 gang intermediate type ,
unless you know different?.......
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics