updating a consumer unit


Postby mirfield lad » Fri Aug 24, 2007 6:15 pm

Hi
I have a house which as been rewired (before I bought it) & the consumer unit has mcb's fitted. There is no earth supplied by the supply company and the earth is by the way of a spike into the ground.

I am selling the house and the purchaser as had a electrical check done and came back to say, this is not to the current standards, and needs rcds fitting.

So do the rcds need to replace all of the mcb's or can one be fitted inplace of the main switch. They said it would have to be a new consumer unit. Any help would be appreciated. Mirfield Lad.
mirfield lad
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:23 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Sat Aug 25, 2007 7:55 pm

Hi, I am suprised to hear after a rewire that with a TT system (spike/rod)that there is no main RCD fitted as this has been a requirement for many years.
Either a 30mA in the 'tails' or in place of the main sw.
Or a 100mA type s time delayed one as above with individual RCBO,s for each power circuit, the dearest but best option if for yourself!
Regards SPARX
sparx
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.

Postby mirfield lad » Sun Aug 26, 2007 6:11 pm

Sparx, thank you for all the information. I think I will go for the dearest option of 100mA type s & the indiviual RCBO's for each circuit.

Many thanks again.
mirfield lad
Rank: Labourer
Progress to next rank:
25%
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2007 5:23 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics