Visonic Powermax Complete installation - HELP


Postby VK » Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:44 am

hi guys, just bought a Visonic Powermax COMPLETE wireless alarm system, I understand it is same as the Visonic Powermax PLUS, just has a new panel and the powersupply is internal.

I want to install it myself so just looking for tips before I go ahead and install. So here are a few of my initial questions.

1) are there any set rules for the height of installing PIR sensors. I mean how far down should they be from ceiling.
2) door contact installation, again how high should these be place on door. I was thinking around 4-5 foot high.
3) as the Visonic Complete doesn't come with a power adaptor, so it needs to be hardwired into a fuse spur. will 3A fuse spur be ok for this and can the power be taken from my lighting circuit (1.5mm cable) - planning to stick a junction box and then a fuse spur from which I will just get a round flex cable straight into Powermax Complete.
4) telephone cable - as you know we have a number of wires in the telephone cable so just need to understand which two coloured cables should I use. Do I insert a telephone junction box to connect to main telephone cable or just stick a RJ11 on the other end and just stick it in a telephone socket.

if there are any other tips you can offer, please do so.

cheers, VK
VK
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:13 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby ericmark » Sun Feb 28, 2010 11:16 pm

[quote="VK"]hi guys, just bought a Visonic Powermax COMPLETE wireless alarm system, I understand it is same as the Visonic Powermax PLUS, just has a new panel and the powersupply is internal.

I want to install it myself so just looking for tips before I go ahead and install. So here are a few of my initial questions.

1) are there any set rules for the height of installing PIR sensors. I mean how far down should they be from ceiling. [/quote]Normally tucked right into ceiling to get best view of room.[quote]
2) door contact installation, again how high should these be place on door. I was thinking around 4-5 foot high.[/quote]Normally top away from hinge.[quote]
3) as the Visonic Complete doesn't come with a power adaptor, so it needs to be hardwired into a fuse spur. will 3A fuse spur be ok for this and can the power be taken from my lighting circuit (1.5mm cable)[/quote]Nothing to stop you although normally one would supply from independent supply. I have seen fridge/freezer supply used so supply failure will cause alarm to give audio warning of freezer supply failure but see final note[quote] - planning to stick a junction box and then a fuse spur from which I will just get a round flex cable straight into Powermax Complete.
4) telephone cable - as you know we have a number of wires in the telephone cable so just need to understand which two coloured cables should I use. Do I insert a telephone junction box to connect to main telephone cable or just stick a RJ11 on the other end and just stick it in a telephone socket.

if there are any other tips you can offer, please do so.

cheers, VK[/quote]Using a monitoring centre there are rules set by the centre. Example is needing two zones to be triggered. So the installation will often need two sensor in each protected room. Also often they have to be installed by a member of some national group who registers alarm firms. As an electrician I was on odd time asked to fit alarms but in the main because you could not get them monitored if we fitted them an alarm firm was called in. I did work as an alarm installation guy and there was nothing different as to way they were installed as when working as an electrician and in fact I have had my ex-apprentice fit alarms for me because he worked for alarm firm and I didn't. As to telephone there is no universal colour code so to give colours is not likely to help.

But even with a degree in Electrical Engineering I would not fit my own alarm except for out buildings as alarm bells are ignored and only if fitted by right firm can you get them monitored.

Sorry about quotes I see this forum has them disabled I am sure you can work it out. Unless enabled by SYSOP?
ericmark
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Mold, North Wales.


Postby VK » Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:58 pm

thanks buddy. this will defo help.

I wasn't interested in having it monitored, it's for part of the house that will not be used much so just going to place sensors in that part of the house, someone will always pretty much be in the house.

cheers, VK
VK
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 10:13 am


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics