Wiring a 5 amp lamp circuit


Postby gizmo » Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:15 am

When wiring a standard lamp socket (5 amp), is it OK to wire several sockets in series without looping back? This will be on lighting circuit not ring main. Thank-you.
gizmo
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:38 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Sun Nov 18, 2007 6:47 pm

Hi Gizmo,
I take it you want to install a circuit for outlets for standard lamps ect rather than ceiling roses? using 3 pin 5A sockets, if so then fine as a radial with no need to return to C.U.
However if you are creating a new circuit then it is a controlled installation under bldg regs 'Part-P' see 'Projects'
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby Evo2463 » Sun Dec 02, 2007 10:34 am

So if a new consumer unit and/or a lighting circuit is fitted for upstairs or downstairs are you saying new regs mean a ring circuit for lighting similar to a ringmain?

i.e. start and finish at CU?
Evo2463
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 2:05 pm


Postby 333rocky333 » Sun Dec 02, 2007 12:26 pm

Radials for lighting
Rings for 13 amp power,ie sockets etc, only

2 or 5 amp type sockets only allowed on lighting circuits, fused at 6 or10 amp max at supply fuse.

These sockets usually wired back to each room ceiling rose, usually 1.5 cable as a radial so the existing room switch will work the lights.
Subject to total lamp load and possible part p work.

You can wire them to the fusebox (Radial 1.5 cable),but each light will then need its own switch fitted, so you might as well put twin power sockets in which could be used for other stuff as well.(ring or radial 2.5)
Also possible part p work
333rocky333
Posts: 182
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:03 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics