Wiring an electric cooker


Postby EmmaS » Sat Jul 04, 2009 8:10 pm

I have bought a new electric cooker and the wire from the consumer unit to the cooker control unit is still there but i cant tell what the wire size is as it is the old fashioned wiring (black and red) twinned with earth. My first question is, is there any way I can find out the size of this wiring? My second question is, what size of new wiring do I need to connect from the cooker control unit (old wiring) to the new cooker?
EmmaS
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 10:14 am

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby BLAKEY1963 » Sun Jul 05, 2009 11:12 am

[quote="EmmaS"]I have bought a new electric cooker and the wire from the consumer unit to the cooker control unit is still there but i cant tell what the wire size is as it is the old fashioned wiring (black and red) twinned with earth. My first question is, is there any way I can find out the size of this wiring? My second question is, what size of new wiring do I need to connect from the cooker control unit (old wiring) to the new cooker?[/quote]

Emmas
It could be 6 or 10 mm2 . The size will of cable to connect 2 new appliance will depend on current rating of new appliance.
get in an electrician to advise u further
BLAKEY1963
BLAKEY1963
Posts: 654
Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2007 10:57 pm


Postby kbrownie » Sun Jul 05, 2009 6:51 pm

EmmaS,
As Blakey says. the cable size is dependant on the current rating of the protective device which is calculated by dividing the output of your cooker by the supply voltage then diversity can be applied. If a socket is on the cooker isolator that will also have an effect on the calculation.
But normally falls in to the 6mm or 10mm CSA.
Sometimes the size can be seen on the PVC sheath of the cable an electrician will know by sight but you can buy a tool to measure CSA.
KB
Last edited by kbrownie on Tue Jul 07, 2009 9:17 am, edited 1 time in total.
kbrownie
Posts: 1757
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 9:36 pm


Postby moggy1968 » Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:02 pm

or go into B&Q, have a look at the cable size of 10 and 6 mm and compare it to what you have. if you post the rating of your cooker we can estimaste what size of cable you need (although it does depend on factors additional to the rating of your cooker)
moggy1968
Posts: 198
Joined: Sat Feb 21, 2009 11:32 am


Postby chris_on_tour2002 » Tue Jul 14, 2009 5:39 pm

you are dealing with pretty high currents and voltages here - as is always the case with electrics, if in any doubt then it's best to get in a pro.
chris_on_tour2002
Posts: 1023
Joined: Thu Aug 30, 2007 9:14 pm


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics