Wiring electric cooker to socket


Postby Daithio » Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:02 pm

Need some advice on wiring electric cooker to a double switch socket box on wall.Replacing a gas cooker. Have a 35 amp fuse connection seperate from normal fusebox, running to socket. Opened up the socket box, and found cable (red, black and earth) connected from mains to socket switch only. Do I simply need to connect a 6mm sq. cable from base of cooker and feed it to the terminals for cooker switch?? What precautions and advice do I need? Thanks a mil.
Daithio
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:41 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby sparx » Sun Feb 01, 2009 8:10 pm

hi.
not entirely sure, but if I understand you correctly you have what is sometimes done when an electric cooker's not wanted initially.
A cooker point is wired but a double socket is fitted instead of a cooker switch. If so then the socket must be changed for a cooker unit, with or without a socket on it, you cannot just connect from socket terminals to the cooker as there would be no isolation point for cooker which is required,
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Postby Daithio » Tue Feb 03, 2009 9:36 pm

thanx for tips. just discovered a volex 45a cooker switch with smaller switch for the socket. Would that suit the 6mm sq cable fed from cooker to socket box?? i would like to keep the socket available The cooker is 10300 watts with 230v = 42 amp. there is a 35 amp fuse beside fusebox. What fuse would i need??
Daithio
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:41 pm


Postby sparx » Wed Feb 04, 2009 9:10 pm

Hi again,
yes that would be fine to fit in place of existing socket on a 6mm cable as you say 35A fuse? are you sure it's not a 32A ? 35's an odd size.

As for load, 10.3 kW is around 44A but as I explained on another posting recently, their is an allowance in the regs for 'diversity' on cooker circuits which says you take:
10% of total ie 4.4A plus 30% of remaining load ie
[44-4.4] = 39.6A/30%= 13.07 + 5A for socket on panel, so total assumed load = 4.4+13.07+5=22.47A, well within your supply.
'On site guide' gives rule of thumb that any cooker up to 15,000w can run from a 32A cooker circuit,
regards SPARX
sparx
Posts: 2166
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 8:33 pm
Location: The fifth continent.


Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by


 


  • Related Topics