Building A Brick Outbuilding Myself and Advice Needed on Whats Involved
Information, help and advice on many architecture, self build and design problems and issues

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
kingsburygirl
Labourer
Labourer

Building A Brick Outbuilding Myself and Advice Needed on Whats Involved

by kingsburygirl » Fri Jun 30, 2017 2:05 am

Ok I'm not sure how mad I am or if the money I would save would even be worth it, but I'm currently in the market for a yoga studio to be built with proper foundations and double-skin brick walls in the back garden. It would measure 6.5 meters by 7 metres with the maximum height of 2.5m, and I will approach the council before I build. I have no building experience... I'm a) a girl and b) now a mature medical student, but I figure if you can work your way through a cadaver, then a building is surely the next step.

I guess my questions are:

1) Which bits to get contracted and which bits to do myself?
2) What kinds of cost am I looking at?
3) Am I insane?
4) Is it better to just get the building built for me? If so, how much would I be looking at? Would it be significantly more than a self-build?
5) Does anyone have any advice.

HenryMartin
Labourer
Labourer

Re: Building A Brick Outbuilding Myself and Advice Needed on Whats Involved

by HenryMartin » Tue Jul 04, 2017 4:15 pm

It may not sound it but a building of that size, requires a huge amount of brick. You will also need really good foundations as the weight can cause subsidence which would make the building uninhabitable. If you really want to have a go I would find someone who can come out and at least give you some instruction. Also, if access is tight to the back yard you may want to reconsider or you will be hauling armloads of brick for months.

kingsburygirl
Labourer
Labourer

by kingsburygirl » Wed Jul 05, 2017 1:16 am