Changing a Pipe in Central Heating System
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

4 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
omits
Apprentice
Apprentice

Changing a Pipe in Central Heating System

Post by omits » Thu Aug 22, 2013 11:47 am

I have two pipes going from 1st to ground floor. I need to take out a section in each (copper) and put in plastic ch pipe thus removing a kink in both pipes. Can I successfully use one of those vacuum kits where one blocks the overflow and outlet of the feed tank in the loft? I want to make sure before I try this so maybe someone has done this. Thanks.

plumbbob
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Changing a Pipe in Central Heating System

Post by plumbbob » Thu Aug 22, 2013 8:29 pm

I've been using these kits regularly for over five years now and how found in a majority of instances ther remove the necessity of draining down. The problem is, I have found no way of gauging beforehand how successful they will be. Sometimes the flow stops after about a pint and other times you wonder what's the point. Occasionally the flow won't stop, but it slows enough to allow for a compression coupling.

Here are a few tips I would offer.

1. Don't use a bung in the expansion pipe. Use a Speedfit end cap.
2. Don't work on the flow and return together. Do each at a time. (Breaks the vacuum otherwise)
3. The lower down you are on the system the less likely it will work.
4. Be prepared for a large unexpected flow of water. On one job I thought everything was under control and suddenly...... Luckily I had a thumb and a mate to empty the buckets.

Basically, you are in the lap of the gods.

Have you considered freezing the pipes?

omits
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by omits » Thu Aug 22, 2013 8:58 pm