Converting my Fish Tank Hood to LED
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
lukemorgan
Labourer
Labourer

Converting my Fish Tank Hood to LED

by lukemorgan » Wed Feb 12, 2020 9:53 am

Hi all, total newbie here...

I've currently got a large-ish fish tank. Long story short I bought it second hand and whilst the tank is absolutely fine the hood is on it's way out. Had a smaller similar tank which the hood burnt out and unfortunately a new hood would cost more than double I paid for the tank.

I'm looking to gut the hood, and replace with LED striplights. I'd need to be able to run 2 x 1m strips, then connect into the power unit (which would go where the current unit is. Will save me a fortune in the long term in bulbs, be more economic in terms of power use too.

Now so far I've been able to gather I need IP68 lights. That's as far as I can get. Any tips/help on where to get what I need specifically? Is it even possible to have a unit I can connect 2 x striplights into?

Any help would be much appreciated

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Converting my Fish Tank Hood to LED

by Mr White » Wed Feb 12, 2020 7:08 pm

You need to find suitable LED strip first (It is not hard to come by)
Once you have / know the rating of the LED strip you can then buy a "driver" for the strip.

So for the sake of argument you get 2 strips each are 12v 10w You would need a driver that is the same or bigger than the total watts.

So you could easily use a 12v 25w driver since 25 is bigger than 20, but you could not use a 15w driver to run your 2 strips as it would be too small.

Some call it a driver some call it an LED power supply.
Normal lights operate on A.C. LED's run on D.C.
LED drivers have a D.C. output.

Most (not all) suppliers of LED strip also supply suitable drivers.

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Converting my Fish Tank Hood to LED

by ericmark » Thu Feb 13, 2020 12:57 pm