All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

10 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Kosrug
Apprentice
Apprentice

Copper Cylinder Problem..Please Help!

by Kosrug » Wed Nov 07, 2007 9:07 pm

Evening All,

I'm a complete beginner with DIY so please bear with me. I have recently had a problem with the cylinder (HERCULES Direct Copper Cylinder) that heats the water of my flat.

There is a night switch and a day switch that's used to heat the water, the night switch is working fine but the day switch triggers the main trip switch so now do not have any hot water during the day. :(

I've tried looking into what could be the problem so have taken the cover off (where the wires from the main switch go to the cylinder) and nothing looks corroded or wires loose, apart from a gage (got the name SATCHWELL and looks like a timer or a temperature gage with no's 10 to 80 on it) that is loose and can move without any problems. Is this supposed to be like this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated and who should I call if it isn't a job for a novice?

Thanks! :D

stevenc1603
Ganger
Ganger

by stevenc1603 » Thu Nov 08, 2007 2:24 pm

If I remember this correctly the cylinder will have 2 immersion heaters in it.

I think the upper one is the day one as it only heats the upper portion of the water nearest the outlet.

The night one either turns on the bottom one on its own or turns on both, I can't remember which.

I would guess that perhaps the bottom heating element has gone but you would need to get it tested to be sure.

marrtin
Foreman
Foreman

by marrtin » Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:43 pm

Well, it's a bit of a guess without checking further, but you will probably find the immersion has corroded inside the tank which is causing the trip to activate.