Cracks in mortar and blocks under windows
All manner of questions and solutions to problems and issues surrounding the subject of brickwork, blockwork and stonework

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Bro88
Labourer
Labourer

Cracks in mortar and blocks under windows

by Bro88 » Mon Apr 19, 2021 8:19 am

Hi!

I have a few concerns about some cracks on my self build that I am half way through.

This is my first project, I might add!

I have found a few hairline cracks under the window reveals and wonder if I should be freaking out?

Here is the story:

the site is 8m x 7m

I dug the foundations myself! I dug down around 2-4 metres in places into fresh/virgin soil in our sloped garden.

The concrete in the trench is a minimum of 375mm deep by 600 wide. It’s probably a bit deeper and wider in places. I made sure that the digger bucket excavated with the teeth slightly upward, so as never to drag the bottom of the trench. So all soil in the trenches is nice and compact.

Everything has been done to the structural engineers calcs.

the building control officer has inspected the soil and trenches prior pouring the concrete and blocking up the foundations. He then also returned to see DPC.

he was happy through the process.

The concrete was poured in august last year. I then began to lay the courses of blocks in the evenings, at weekends and in some spare days off work.

Below ground the walls are 100 wide block outer leaf, with 140 block inner, with a concrete filled 60mm cavity cavity up to around 200mm below DPC! Above DPC the walls are a mixture of bricks and n7 dense blocks in the outer leaf with 3.6 aerated inner leaf.

The build is a 1 & 1/2 story build, with a room in the roof basically.

To keep the rooms free of any load bearing supports and low ceiling joists, the engineer specified a RSJ ridge beam to support the rafters. The rafters are 200x47 rafters at 600 centres. The rafters also sit in a wall plate on both side walls.