Crumbling Brickwork below Rendering
All manner of questions and solutions to problems and issues surrounding the subject of brickwork, blockwork and stonework

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
feisar
Apprentice
Apprentice

Crumbling Brickwork below Rendering

by feisar » Wed Mar 02, 2011 10:19 pm

Hi, after the winter the bricks at the rear of my house have started to crumble, I guess its the damp getting in, freezing, then thawing, they have done it before but not as bad as they are now. With the weather getting warmer I now feel its time need to address the situation as they are in quite a bad state.
Last year I tidied up the drainage on the back wall.
What action you think should be taken. I am a complete novice but dont mind having a go. I fear this is going to be expensive if I get someone in.
I was was thinking repair the bricks, re-point and seal with some kind of bitumen. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance
Darren

welsh brickie
Project Manager
Project Manager

brickwork

by welsh brickie » Thu Mar 03, 2011 4:29 pm

I would fit a metal bead called a (bellbead) around the house just above the blown brickwork this throws the water away from the wall.then plaster the brickwork with a waterproof addative and paint it with bitumin to seal it for good measure

feisar
Apprentice
Apprentice

by feisar » Sat Mar 05, 2011 3:20 pm

Thanks welsh brickie, glad you didnt say the bricks need replacing or something worse, phew :)
So I would start with the bell bead below the rendering on the brick or on the rendering itself?
Do I need to repair any of the bricks?
And you say plaster the brickwork with waterproof additive, have you a product in mind so I know what to purchase? Same with bitumen seal please. There is so much stuff on the market, I'd end up getting the wrong thing.
Thanks

welsh brickie
Project Manager
Project Manager

crumbling bricks

by welsh brickie » Mon Mar 07, 2011 3:31 pm