Extending kitchen wall cabinets with longer doors
Kitchens, doors, rails, stud, tables, chairs, stair cases, garden furniture etc... Find answers and ask questions here!

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
jobsey
Labourer
Labourer

Extending kitchen wall cabinets with longer doors

by jobsey » Sun Jan 16, 2011 11:26 am

Can anyone help please? I've bought six longer Ikea doors for the existing kitchen wall units in order to use the space at the top of the old cabinets, its a very small galley kitchen. The doors are heavy, good quality and I now worry about the weight - it also means that I have to build and secure a type of wooden frame on top of the old cabinets in order to drill in and secure the hinges for the new doors - what would be the best way to construct and go about this please? I'm a complete novice and on a strict budget so trying to do as much as possible myself.

Thanks in advance - Jobsey

jobsey
Labourer
Labourer

by jobsey » Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:43 pm

No takers? Was really hoping for one or two little tips on this as I am neither a carpenter of a diy woman - would be grateful to know the pitfall or not of such a project.

toplondonchef
Ganger
Ganger

by toplondonchef » Wed Jan 26, 2011 11:06 pm

Hi Jobsey

I did submit a really detailed plan for you a couple of days ago to help you extend your wall units

A bit surprised that it hasn't appeared yet - certainly nothing in there for the moderators to moderate !

If it doesn't appear, will try to find time to re-submit but hopefully just lost in cyber space for a couple of days - must be patient !

Regards

jobsey
Labourer
Labourer

by jobsey » Sat Jan 29, 2011 1:39 pm

Hi TopLondonChef,

Thank you so much for your reply - it is much appreciated. I shall wait patiently for the moderators to allow me to access the detailed plan you submitted, I am sure they will do so soon.

That is terribly kind of you to go to such trouble - this forum is full of good people.

Thanks again.

Jobsey

TheDoctor4
Project Manager