Fitting new fuse box and breakers
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
p.whitelock
Labourer
Labourer

Fitting new fuse box and breakers

Post by p.whitelock » Thu Jul 10, 2008 6:45 pm

Hi people, new to the forum. So first off, Hi to everyone! :)

Im looking to update (and make safer) some of my houses electrics without doing a whole house re-wire. When i moved in there was alot of dodgy things (seems dodgy to me anyway) like garden lights fed from a 2.5 3 core flex and fed through drilled hole in outside wall and plugged into a socket :?

Basically i have one of the older style fuse boxes with the old cartridge fuse wire fuses. I would like to replace it with a modern nice white one with breakers in it and i want to know basic things about doing it. Im not an electrician but i do know a bit (i can test wires etc - im an instrument technician). Things like how much am i looking for the gear, how do i isolate feeds to fuses (the electric board switch me off?) etc. The supply isolation issue is my main concern as the rest of it i assume is just mark the wires and remove and refit them to the new breakers etc.

Thanks
Paul :)

stevenc1603
Ganger
Ganger

Post by stevenc1603 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:34 am

If you are in england or wales you really need a qualified pro to do this as its under the Part P regulations. Without the proper paperwork you could end up with problems selling your house in the future and you may invalidate your household insurance should the place burn down and it was proven to be an electrical fault.

If you are doing a complete re-wire then you don't have to worry about testing all the old circuits before you start. If you were just upgrading the consumer unit (fusebox) then you would want to test all the circuits first as the new MCB's and RCD's will trip for faults that the older style fuses will not as they are more sensitive.

ericmark