Garden decking
Ask questions and find answers on all your decking problems and issues

11 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
markwilliams82
Apprentice
Apprentice

Garden decking

Post by markwilliams82 » Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:32 pm

I'm looking into putting some decking in my garden. I've never done any decking before so am looking for all the help I can get.

the area where I want the decking is concreted over however the ground isnt level, and one end is higher by about a foot compared to the other side.
can i put decking on to this? or how can i go about getting it built?

any help would be appreciated

aeyres
Apprentice
Apprentice

Post by aeyres » Wed Aug 19, 2009 5:00 pm

Without knowing where the deck is in relation to your house, & the concrete quality, i will assume away from the house (as vertical walls can be used to fix to) & good quality concrete slab.

Essentially, what you need to do is make your sub deck perimeter frame timber to the size & shape you require without fixing it to anything. Place it in position (over your concrete) & using timber or plastic packers, level the sub frame out to the desired height (remember you will want a slight fall for the water to run off)
Depending on your frame timber size, Counter bore 25m holes around your deck frame (arrrox 1/3rd down) then drill remainder with 10mm hole to enable you to directly bolt fix through the timber & into the concrete. Use M10 x 150 Concrete fixings or anchor bolts. The concrete will need to be marked & drilled with (8mm masonry if using threaded concrete bolts) or 10mm masonry for anchor bolts. Remember to re-check everything is still to your desired level. Fix the frame securely bolting through timber into concrete at regular positions (ensure your fixing positions are adequately packed out)