help wanted - im a newbie in need!
All aspects of plumbing questions and answers, help, tips and information

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
kevlar.cola
Labourer
Labourer

help wanted - im a newbie in need!

by kevlar.cola » Tue Dec 29, 2009 1:15 pm

Have just purchased a new thermostatic mixer shower and about to embark on plumbing it in.
We have a vented low pressure system with an indirect cylinder, fortunately the site for the shower is almost under the loft area where the cylinder sits so im hoping should be easier to fit??
My question is - I was going to connect cold to shower from the incoming cold feed (header tank to cylinder), and the hot to shower from the hot feed to the taps (out of the top of the cylinder). Is this OK to do?? Also I am concerned about pressure, will there be enough to get wet in the shower?
Cost is a major issue as just been made redundant so was hoping not to need to buy a pump - or should I just get an electric shower???????

Many thanks
confused and concerned!!

htg engineer
Project Manager
Project Manager

by htg engineer » Wed Dec 30, 2009 7:29 pm

I'd go for an electric shower, fed from the mains. You'll get a better flow rate. If the shower was on the ground floor and the tanks in the loft - you would have the head/height to give a decent shower.

htg

rosebery
Project Manager
Project Manager

by rosebery » Thu Dec 31, 2009 12:02 am

You have two choices:

First is take it back and fit an electric as Htg suggests. The "but" is that you'll need a qualified sparks to do the electrics for you and it will need a new dedicated RCD circuit from the consumer unit in 6 or 10mm CSA cable. THis will be an additional cost to balance against option 2 and it won't cost £ 20.00!