Help Wanted With Installing Ring Pro Doorbell


Postby wishka » Sun Feb 25, 2018 3:06 pm

Afternoon all,

I'm looking for some advice.

We are looking to install a Ring Pro however I have a question of how to get it installed in a tidy and safe manner.

The Ring Pro requires 16-24v. Our current doorbell is wired, from the button to the bell, where there is an inbuilt tansformer as shown here - https://photos.app.goo.gl/DaGNPZNEInc4QWC83

The pro comes with a transformer to place in the consumer unit but I do not have space and do not wish to incur the cost of a sparky to replace this.

What do you think the best option is for me here? Should I fit a small garage style consumer unit in place of the old bell box to secure and hide away the transformer? Unfortunately, I cannot seem to find another bell with a built in transformer outputting sufficient power which would be the easiest answer.

I'm not bothered about losing the bell btw, I'll just use the included mains powered one.

Thank you in advance for any advice!
wishka
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:57 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby Mr White » Sun Feb 25, 2018 8:56 pm

Why don't you buy a stand alone power supply? it will be better, cost less than a garage consumers unit, and less grief.
Mr White
Rank: Foreman
Progress to next rank:
30%
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 pm

Postby ericmark » Sun Feb 25, 2018 10:07 pm

Consumer Unit means a type tested distribution unit, to keep the type testing you can only fit items which have been tested with it, so unless you got a ring consumer unit you can't fit a ring power supply. So if consumer unit is MK then everything inside it needs to be MK.

The instructions show a wallwart transformer the set I found showed the Australian version, but clearly they normally don't have the transformer built into the consumer unit.

I looked for rating but could not find it. 16 volt is quite standard for a door bell.
ericmark
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1933
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Mold, North Wales.

Postby wishka » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:29 am

Hi all,

I really didn't want a plug in transformer, my first thought was to get hold of a replacement bell box with a built in transformer outputting sufficient power however these seem hard to find.

The UK variant I am looking at comes with a transformer for the CU - https://support.ring.com/hc/en-us/artic ... an-Version
wishka
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:57 pm

Postby Mr White » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:30 pm

Even if you got an adaptable box, a din rail, and cable glands and put the transformer in the box You would still have to put a mains flex on it, and put a plug on the flex to plug it in.

So it would still be cheaper to buy a plug in power supply, and it usually comes with fitted plug.
Mr White
Rank: Foreman
Progress to next rank:
30%
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 pm

Postby wishka » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:44 pm

I'm not sure I have explained myself very well. The reason I wanted to avoid the plug solution, is that I already have mains wiring to the doorbell. The only issue, is the transformer in my installation is built into the bell unit and does not output sufficient voltage.

If I could just wire up a new transformer, in place of the old integrated one, that would solve the issue, but I have been unable to find a suitable wall mounted transformer outputting sufficient power.
wishka
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:57 pm

Postby Mr White » Tue Feb 27, 2018 5:19 am

Any one can only go by what is "said"

So, in your case, why not buy an adaptable box, a din rail, cable glands and mount the supplied transformer in that, then take your mains feed into the box?

A "din rail" is what you mount things on, it is also what you will find in the back of a consumers unit.
"Cable glands" are to stop a cable from chaffing on anything, and they also hold the cable secure.
An "adaptable box" is a box which you can adapt to suit the requirements of the job in question.
Mr White
Rank: Foreman
Progress to next rank:
30%
Posts: 290
Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2017 9:54 pm

Postby wishka » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:22 pm

Thanks for the replies, I think I have my solution, taking on board what you have said. I'm thinking this will do the job nicely and can simply take the replace of the old bell / transformer box.

https://www.eleconline.co.uk/zdriverel/ ... W0QAvD_BwE
wishka
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
0%
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2018 2:57 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics