Help With Asbestos Boards Disturbed by Plumber in Airing Cupboard
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Matty-p
Labourer
Labourer

Help With Asbestos Boards Disturbed by Plumber in Airing Cupboard

by Matty-p » Tue Dec 31, 2019 8:06 pm

Hello newbie here. My mother in law recently had a plumber come to her house. The plumber in question couldn’t come so sent a colleague who it appears isn’t registered (we found this out later). The job in question required the plumber to remove a box surrounding the flue to the boiler. The chap came in an started pulling the boards off with one snapping in the airing cupboard. It transpires these were asbestos boards. The guy didn’t clean up, wear any ppe and stuck the board in a black bag. Out of concern I got an professional in who did the tests, confirmed asbestos and helped clear up. She’s had to get rid of everything in the cupboard, her hoover and is now an emotional wreck. To add the work is unfinished. Two asbestos boards still present. My question what can I do/should I do about the plumber, getting so compensation for the hoover and the cost of getting additional people out. Is this within my rights?? My mother in law is more crazy than ever now. Need to resolve this ASAP. Help please.

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: Help With Asbestos Boards Disturbed by Plumber in Airing Cupboard

by ericmark » Fri Jan 03, 2020 12:45 pm

As far as I am aware the building owner or manager should inform any tradesman of any asbestos in the building before work starts, if the asbestos was not on the asbestos register then the tradesman can claim off the building owner or manager even 25 years latter, so if it were me, I would be rather edgy about raising the issue for fear of claims.