hole in my concrete floor
Help, advice, information, answers and tips on all types of flooring from laminate and carpet to timber and vinyl

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
shenshaw007
Labourer
Labourer

hole in my concrete floor

by shenshaw007 » Sun Nov 25, 2007 11:50 am

Hi im new to this so any help would be gratefull. I decided to take a cupourd out from my kitchen to make it bigger but it left a lip in the floor about 5 mill thick. I decided to try and knock it out and level it off with some self levelling compound. However when i knocked it out the whole base came up with it leaving a whole around the depth of a house brick and approx one meter square. there is some insulation board at the bottom which i guess il leave in and some concrete below that but what is the best way to fill the rest of the hole? plus where the dpc comes up the wall to the bricks it has a few tears in it , does this need to be repaired too? look forward to your replies.steve

john9159
Ganger
Ganger

by john9159 » Tue Nov 27, 2007 4:45 pm

The damage to the DPC must first be repaired. An easy method is to use some thick bitumen paint which should be applied in several layers, (you could apply tape to the bach if possible to hold it together) allowing the previous application to dry at each stage. Otherwise you could rake out mortar between the bricks and slip in a fresh piece of Polymer DPC wider than the existing DPC and mortar in in place. The former is quicker and easier but the latter is more effective.
The insulation board at the bottom is probably associated with the DPC and is there to prevent damp and cold from the earth below rising so must not be disturbed; there will be a polythene sheet below acting as DPC.