How easy is this going to be?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Darkspark
Apprentice
Apprentice

How easy is this going to be?

by Darkspark » Wed Dec 08, 2021 9:56 pm

I have bought a Single 2-Way, 2-Switch Outdoor Weatherproof Switch, IP66 Rated, 20 Amp,
I need it to feed two outdoor lights
1. Flood light
2. Summerhouse lights

So summerhouse cable coming in from the left floodlight down from above and the main feed from house going up through the bottom. All wiring there. I just need to attach to the switch.
How simple is it going to be? I feel there’s not enough space for all the wires (I’m a novice) if I fail I will have to get someone in after I’ve saved for a year to pay them.

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: How easy is this going to be?

by Mr White » Wed Dec 08, 2021 10:28 pm

If you do not feel confident to carry out the job, I strongly suggest for safety sake you get someone to do the job for you, unless you do more research first.

Tip: Do not bring any cable in from the top. Unless you have the correct cable gland for the cable you are using, chances are you will get water ingress. Much better to bring the cables in from the sides.

Darkspark
Apprentice
Apprentice

by Darkspark » Thu Dec 09, 2021 6:18 am

I have the glands wires are set up already in a single switch which now is faulty so wanted to use the double switch

Mr White
Project Manager
Project Manager

by Mr White » Thu Dec 09, 2021 8:15 am

Picture?
Did it go "Bang" by any chance?

Darkspark
Apprentice
Apprentice

by Darkspark » Thu Dec 09, 2021 9:26 pm