How to Wire 3 Switches to a Table Lamp?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

3 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Mira9
Labourer
Labourer

How to Wire 3 Switches to a Table Lamp?

by Mira9 » Mon Apr 17, 2017 6:05 pm

Hello,
I'm completing an art project and I need some help. I have some basic electrical knowledge and some experience, mostly wiring lamps etc.
I want a regular table lamp connected to 3 toggle switches. The idea is that the lamp turns on once you move all three switches to ON position and the lamp only turns off once you move all three switches to OFF position.
Is it at all possible to wire it that way or am I getting ahead of myself?
I'd greatly appreciate any help.
Thank you

kbrownie
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: How to Wire 3 Switches to a Table Lamp?

by kbrownie » Mon Apr 17, 2017 8:45 pm

No you would not be able to do this using a standard rocker switches, as once you turn one switch off the circuit is then open/broken.

Therefore two switches would be closed and one open and circuit incomplete.

ericmark
Project Manager
Project Manager

Re: How to Wire 3 Switches to a Table Lamp?

by ericmark » Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:34 am

You can have:-
With on/off is series all must be on for light to be on.

With on/off in parallel all must be off for light to be off.

With two change over or single pole two way and with one double pole two way the latter often called a reversing or intermediate switch you can have any switch put light on or off. You can add as many intermediate switches as you like but only 2 two way switches.

Next is using master / slave system not seen as toggle, but common with dimming switches here the slave switches tell master what to do.