I've Added a Microwave and Now my Cooker Trips?


Postby bpascua » Thu Apr 05, 2018 7:42 am

Hello All,

I live in an old Edwardian house, which has an extension built about 7 years ago. I have a range cooker which has its own electrical RCD fuse. There are several more fuses for the old downstairs sockets and the new extension sockets. I had to move a microwave into our kitchen this week. On top of my kitchen cabinets there are two single sockets. One is used for the fridge and the other has a 4-1 adaptor with an extractor fan in it.

On moving the microwave I had to use an extension lead (1.5mm cable 13 amp plugs) that then plugged into the 4-1. So far so good. After a day or so the cooker tripped out when I turned it off. It blew fuse 1 which is the cooker. The microwave stayed on and everything else. Bugger I thought. So I tried without the 4-1 pluging it directly into the socket. Now its worth mentioning that the two single sockets seem to have other grey wires feeding into them which I suspect isnt ideal. Anyway after turning the oven on and off rapidly a few times times the fuses blew again - fuse 1. I have also tried plugging it into the fridge socket which should be on a separate fuse - each time the issue is with the cooker.

If I plug the microwave into another socket in the house I get no such issues. The cooker is fine. Can someone help me explain this ? If the sockets were on the same circuit as the cooker then I would expect I was overloading the circuit - but why is the microwave/fridge staying on?

I dont understand electrics so I am sure this is a simple answer......Also is there anything I can do here to use these sockets rather than a have to route a cable somewhere else?

thanks

Brian
bpascua
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
47.4%
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:37 pm

Sponsor

Simply Build It

Postby ericmark » Mon Apr 09, 2018 2:24 am

A RCD is not a fuse, we have two types of protective devices, over current, and current leakage, they can be combined as a RCBO.

Describe the device which disconnects, does it have a test button?
ericmark
Rank: Project Manager
Posts: 1933
Joined: Fri Oct 02, 2009 8:49 pm
Location: Mold, North Wales.

Postby bpascua » Tue Apr 10, 2018 4:54 pm

Hello,

I have 2 fuse boxes next to each other, each fuse has a test button. The oven is on one of the fuses and every time the oven goes off - fuse 2 has tripped. Each fuse has a blue test button. Apologies if I am using the wrong terms...
bpascua
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
47.4%
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:37 pm

Postby bpascua » Tue Apr 10, 2018 5:03 pm

Hello - Apologies I checked my fuse box looking things and each fuse has RCBO and a yellow button.
bpascua
Rank: Apprentice
Progress to next rank:
47.4%
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue May 22, 2007 2:37 pm

Display posts from previous
Sort by
Order by



  • DIY How to Project Guides

  • DIY how to tutorial projects and guides - Did you know we have a DIY Projects section? Well, if no, then we certainly do! Within this area of our site have literally hundreds of how-to guides and tutorials that cover a huge range of home improvement tasks. Each page also comes with pictures and a video to make completing those jobs even easier!



 


  • Related Topics