IDEAL MEXICO 2 BOILER THERMOSTAT PROBLEM
Help and information on all topics relating to your central heating, air conditioning and ventilation issues.

9 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
reece
Labourer
Labourer

IDEAL MEXICO 2 BOILER THERMOSTAT PROBLEM

by reece » Sat May 19, 2007 4:28 pm

I HAVE AN IDEAL MEXICO 2 BOILER AND LAST WEEK IT STOPPED WORKING. THE PILOT LIGHT REMAINED ON.
I AM AN ELECTRICIAN AND TESTED TO MAKE SURE ROOMSTAT WORKING CORRECTLY AND HOT WATER AND CENTRAL HEATING SWITCHES WORKING CORRECTLY, ALL WERE.
I TESTED AT THE BOILER AND HAD 240 AT MAINS AND NOTHING AT GAS VALVE TERMINALS. I TEMPORARILY PUT A LINK ACROSS AND THE BOILER FIRED.
ONE OF THE PLUMBERS AT WORK GAVE ME A THERMOSTAT WHICH HAD A LONGER PROBE AND WASN'T THE EXACT SAME PROBE LENGTH AND IT DIDN'T WORK.
SO I ORDERED A NEW BOILER THERMOSTAT FROM THE NET. IT CAME AND I HAVE FITTED IT. THE BOILER FIRED AND WORKED FOR ABOUT TWO MINUTES AND THE THERMOSTAT TURNED ITSELF OFF THINKING IT HAD REACHED TEMPERATURE.
IT SEEMED TO BE WORKING CORRECTLY BUT THE THERMOSTAT SENSOR SEEMS TO BE SET TOO SENSITIVE AND TURNS OFF TOO SOON. I TOOK THE PROBE OUT OF THE BOILER AND SURE ENOUGH AS THE TEMPERATURE DROPPED THE BOILER FIRED. I PUT THE PROBE BACK IN AND THE BOILER TURNED ITSELF OFF STRAIGHT AWAY.

IS THERE ANY WAY TO ADJUST THE THERMOSTAT. CAN IT BE SET AT THE WRONG TEMPERATURE FROM THE MANUFACTURERS.
I'D APPRECIATE ANY HELP!!
REECE

jondeau
Ganger
Ganger

by jondeau » Sun May 20, 2007 10:06 am

It is a very hit and miss thing to try recalibrating a thermostat. I would change it.

powerflushman
Apprentice
Apprentice

: IDEAL MEXICO 2 BOILER THERMOSTAT PROBLEM

by powerflushman » Sun May 20, 2007 10:25 pm