is this spark a 'cowboy'?
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

2 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
scuba
Labourer
Labourer

is this spark a 'cowboy'?

Post by scuba » Wed Apr 02, 2008 10:49 am

hi, i was wonderin if any1 can help. i am getting faulty electrics sorted out in my house by a man sent by the landlord but i'm not sure if he is part p registered or even if he needs to be! i'd be grateful if some1 can advise me in plain english as i'm not very technical :oops:
also if he is required to be part p registered, is there a database of registered persons i can refer to?
plz plz help me to clarify this. thankyou xxx :?

ericmark

Post by ericmark » Wed Apr 02, 2008 2:26 pm

He does not need to be Part P registered he can inform the council before doing Part P work. As to data base think there are 12 or more organizations allowed to accept registration so you would need to ask them all. It is the Land Lords responsibility to ensure he is able to complete the work.
Part P is required for anything new in a kitchen or bathroom although he can replace things without requiring it. And to replace a consumer unit. Or to fit an new circuit i.e. wired all the way back to the consumer unit.
A complete inspection of your whole electric system and a full report does not require Part P.

Forgetting about Part P there is a recommendation that the regulations contained within the British standard BS 7671 should be followed. It is not law but may be used in a court of law to prove negligent etc. So it may as well be law. This says all electrical work must be documented. But this must be given to the person ordering the work. 632.3 So he has no need to tell you anything and that is common as if he were to tell you for example you have a Code 4 failure it could get you all worried and have you demanding that the Land Lord corrects it but all it says is that it is not wired to the new standards and most likely there is no problem.