Knocking down External wall into a conservatory
Re-generate an old or tired space and give it a fresh breath of life. Click here for answers, information and tips

6 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
RoyalPhoebe
Labourer
Labourer

Knocking down External wall into a conservatory

by RoyalPhoebe » Wed Sep 15, 2010 9:53 am

Hello - am a newbie here and would like some general advice on walls.

I want to buy a house which has a long narrow conservatory next to the kitchen which is too small for us. We would like to knock down the wall between the kitchen and the conservatory to make it into one large kitchen/diner. Currently there is a door between the two rooms and one door from the conservatory into the garden. The wall was an external wall (before the conservatory was put on) and there is a bedroom above it so I expect it is a load bearing wall. We have a budget for any renovations but just wanted to know if we would get permission to knock through and what this entails. Also what would be the cost. Too many questions but hope someone knows the answers. Thanks.

stoneyboy
Project Manager
Project Manager

by stoneyboy » Thu Sep 16, 2010 6:03 pm

RoyalPhoebe,
Very unlikely that the conservatory is adequate to enclose a habitable room so you'll need to upgrade this plus the structural work to the outside wall.
You don't give a size for the conservatory so cost could be anything from £3-25,000.
end

RoyalPhoebe
Labourer
Labourer

by RoyalPhoebe » Sun Sep 19, 2010 8:30 am

stoneyboy wrote:RoyalPhoebe,
Very unlikely that the conservatory is adequate to enclose a habitable room so you'll need to upgrade this plus the structural work to the outside wall.
You don't give a size for the conservatory so cost could be anything from £3-25,000.
end