New consumer units
Ask questions and find answers to many subjects relating to electrics and electrical work

5 posts   •   Page 1 of 1
Kev.L
Apprentice
Apprentice

New consumer units

by Kev.L » Wed Jul 16, 2008 10:18 pm

When I moved into my house about 7 years ago there were 2 meters feeding 2 old rewireable fuse boxes. The first was a standard meter feeding ring main, lighting circuits etc, the 2nd a timer feeding 6, 2.5mm spurs to various places around the house that had been cut off and left LIVE! under floor boards, for 12 hours a day. I have since fitted double socket outlets to each of these cables, done away with the timer and fitted a new 2 way consumer unit which is RCD protected to feed the new radials via 16amp MCB's. I have also replaced the standard fuse box with a split load consumer unit. As I am C&G 2360 quilified and do inspection & testing on lifts as a job I am confident that my work is to a good standard. However as I'm not a electrician working on domestic as my main job I find the whole part P thing very confusing. So do I have to get things inspected that I done 3-4 years ago, if not how do I prove the work was done before Part P was introduced.

sparx
Project Manager
Project Manager

by sparx » Thu Jul 17, 2008 5:33 pm

Hi, easy to prove pre-Part-P as wiring colours changed at the same time!!
clever eh? so if it's all in red/black it's not reportable.
It matters not your qualifications, if you want to do domestic work even in your own home then you are treated same as 'joe public!
So either pay inspection fee for any work covered under part p (before starting} or join one of the self certifying organisations (NAPIT, ELECSA, BSI, ECA-BRE, or the dark side NICEIC) and certify/register your own work ,or pay a registered Sparky to do the work & register it.
sorry but thats the 3 legal options.